NaNoWriMo Goal Update: Epic Failure

Standard

Hey guys and girls,

So as the title suggests I have already failed at my goal for this month, but I will not apologize or beat myself up over it. Setting and failing this goal has made me come to a realization. I am not a daily writer. I tend to write in spurts when I have the time and motivation. In one weekend I can get 10,000 words written if I don’t have any other obligations. This is just how I write and I believe it doesn’t make me any less of a writer.

It also just happened to work out that my first week and a half of November was hectic. Yesterday and today were my first days since the beginning of the month that I was able to lock myself in my room and get some writing done. Actually, after this post I will be writing in my novel, so three cheers for that!

I won’t lie, I felt pretty down about not meeting my goal, but I had to put my foot down and put myself in my place. Life doesn’t work out the way you want it to. In an ideal world I would be living on my own and not at home. In an ideal world I would be making a living from my writing. In an ideal world I would have met my goal. But we don’t live in an ideal world.

Sometimes no amount of determination and discipline can make us meet our goals. My first and only concern from this past week and half was to deal with my stress and anxiety, due to work. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job and I love writing, but sometimes you have to set aside something to take care of yourself.

Bottom line is: I’m not a daily goal person. I’m not a daily writer. I’m not perfect. I’m not professional writer yet. But I’m okay with that. I am a quarterly goal achiever. I am a weekly writer. I am a good person. I AM A WRITER.

Everyone has a different process, everyone lives different lives, and no one should be judged for that. These are my personal feelings and nothing more.

Thanks for reading,

-Lalia LaRose

Leave a Reply

