How Cue Cards Can Be Your Best Friend

Standard

Hey there everyone!

I wanted to talk to you all about something I’ve used to help improve my writing as I’m writing. This trick is pretty simple anyone can use it, plus they can tweak and change it to their needs.

This trick is to use cue cards to remind of important aspects of writing that you need to include. For example, under Story and Plot I have questions like: Are the stakes high enough? or Is the story predictable?

On my ring I have cue cards for Story and Plot, Character, Writing Tools, and Scene. Under each category I have a pile of cue cards with questions and tips about the category. The really nice thing about this is that you can add new tips and questions at any time and easily. You can add new categories or sub-categories to suit your needs.

It’s nice to have these cue cards by your side while your writing so remind yourself of the things that make good writing. You can customize it to target the areas you need the most help on so you can improve your writing. They are meant to be used as a tool to help you get into the habit of asking yourself necessary questions and learning how implement them as you write.

It’s like using flashcards to study. For Writing Tools I used Roy Peter Clark’s book¬†Writing Tools: 50 Essential Strategies for Every Writer.¬†I didn’t write down all 50 writing tools, but I went through and wrote down the ones I know I need to implement. One I particularly like is “Put odd and interesting thins next to each other.”

This cue card technique can be used for just about anything, not just writing. I find that is more compact and easier to use than making check lists on papers to look at. It’s a but more engaging and more fun to make since you can be creative with it. Mine are basic and adjusted for my needs.

It’s simple, yet helpful, tool I wanted to share with you!

Thank you for reading,

-Lalia LaRose